Alas, no local rap winners at MAMAs

??????????This past weekend was insanely busy, because while Timbo, Wiz Khalifa and Nas took to the stage at a literally Extra Cold concert at Supersport Park in Centurion, Khloe Kardashian was supporting her man French Montana at the MTV Africa Music Awards in KwaZulu-Natal. And let’s not forget to mention those crazy after parties that took place in J-Sec and Dbn with stars like Trey Songz getting dissed by ladies who wouldn’t let him into their panties. Too much action, not enough airplanes to jet people between the two destinations. 

It was all eyes on the International Conference Centre in Durban where Marlon Wayans played host at the MAMAs. With the event broadcast live around the globe the list of performers was endless, including Fally Ipupa, Michael Lowman, Don Jazzy, DJ Clock, Beatenberg, DJ Kent, Big Nuz, Toofan, D’Banj, DJ Vigi, DJ Tira, DJ Buckz, Burna Boy, Sauti Sol, Ice Prince, Sarkodie, The Arrows, Khuli Chana, Dr Sid, French Montana, Miguel, Trey Songz, Davido, Uhuru, Mafikizolo, Oskido, Professor, Tiwa Savage, Flavour, Diamond, Phyno and Yuri da Cunha.

Mafikizolo repped SA to the max, taking home the awards for Best Group and Song of The Year. Our local rappers went home empty handed, with Sarkodie scooping up Best Hip Hop. Check out the official list of winners below. ??????????

Best Male: Davido (Nigeria)

Best Female: Tiwa Savage (Nigeria)

Best Group: Mafikizolo (South Africa)

Best New Act: Stanley Enow (Cameroon)

Best Live Act: Flavour (Nigeria)

Best Collaboration: “Y-tjukutja” – Uhuru Ft. Oskido, DJ Bucks, Professor and Yuri Da Cunha (South Africa/Angola)

Best Hip Hop: Sarkodie (Ghana)

Best Alternative: Gangs of Ballet (South Africa)

Best Francophone: Toofan (Togo)

Best Lusophone: Anselmo Ralph (Angola)

Artist of the Year: Davido (Nigeria)

Song of the Year: “Khona” – Mafikizolo ft Uhuru (South Africa)

Best Video: Clarence Peters (Nigeria)

Best Pop: Goldfish (South Africa)

Best International: Pharrell

Personality of the Year: Lupita Nyong’o (Kenya)

MTV Base Leadership Award: Ashish J. Thakkar (Tanzania)

Transform Today Award by Absolut: Clarence Peters (Nigeria)


Images couresy of Al Nicoll/MTV Networks Africa (Pty) Ltd


Join the Hype fam and sign-up today

Newsletters • competitions • events