Cassper Leads the SAMA XXI Nominations

In the years that hip hop has existed in SA, 2014 was the year that it excelled the most. The annual South African Music Awards (SAMA’s) have just released their nominees, and not only did hip hop came out on top, Cassper Nyovest is leading the pack.

Cassper Nyovest dominated once again, receiving a total of five nominations; the most of any artist at this year’s ceremony. K.O followed a little distance behind, receiving 3, including, Male Artist of the Year, Album of the Year and Best Rap Album, to name a few. AKA racked up his share of nods, scoring three nominations including Best Collaboration (‘Run Jozi’) and Male Artist of the Year, but surprisingly wasn’t nominated for Album of the Year like K.O and Cassper.

Duncan earned one for Best Newcomer; and Riky Rick and DJ Dimplez also received one each for Best Remix (Amantombazane) and Best Music Video (Yaya ft Dreamteam and Anatii) respectively.


The SAMA’s will take place at Sun City on the 19th of April and of course HYPE will be all over it like grease on Lionel Richie’s hair. And if you wanna chill out and watch it from the comfort of your own home, check it out on SABC1 Live.


Here is the list of the rest of the nominees below:

  • Album of the Year
    Beatenberg       –      The Hanging Gardens of Beatenberg
    Cassper Nyovest   – Tsholofelo
    K.O  –    Skhanda Republic
    Ringo Madlingozi  –  Vulani
    The Soil  –  Nostalgic Moments
  • Male Artist of the Year
    AKA – Levels
    Cassper Nyovest  –  Tsholofelo
    Jimmy Nevis – The Masses
    K.O.  – Skhanda Republic
    Ringo Madlingozi    Vulani
  • Best Rap Album
    AKA – Levels
    Duncan – Street Government
    Cassper Nyovest  – Tsholofelo
    K.O.  – Skhanda Republic
    Reason – Audio High Definition
  • Best Collaboration
    AKA ft. K.O.                 Run Jozi
    Cassper Nyovest ft.     Gusheshe
    DJ Clock ft. Beatenberg   Pluto
    K.O. ft. Kid X                    Caracara
    The Soil ft. Ladysmith      Hamba Uyosebenza
    Black Mambazo
  • Best Music Video of the Year
    Alessio Bettocchi (director) – Yaya by DJ Dimplez ft. Dream Team & Anatii
    Mzi Kumalo (director)  –  Turn You On by Mi Casa
    Ryan Kruger (director) –  Let the Night In by Prime Circle
    Kyle Lewis (director)  In Defence of My Art by Tumi Molekane
    Zakes Bantwini (director) – Ghetto by Zakes Bantwini
  • Remix of the Year
    DJ Sbu, Robbie Malinga –  Indlela Yam by DJ Sbu
    & Mojalefa Thebe
    Select Play –  Tsiki Tsiki Remix by Duncan
    Goldfish Moonwalk Away (Goldfish Moon Landing Mix) Radio Edit by Goldfish
    Heavy K  – Personal Paradise Remix by Heavy K
    Riky Rick – Amantombazane by Riky Rick


Do you think that these nominees were judged fairly? we wanna know!




Join the Hype fam and sign-up today

Newsletters • competitions • events