19 SAMA – full list of winners!

All roads pointed to Sun City last weekend, as the popular resort played host to over 5,000 guest at the annual MTN South African Music Awards. With electrifying atmosphere in the air, a competitive spirit coupled with the hottest fashion and entertainment, celebs came out in style (shoutout to Dr Malinga’s green/yellow suit) to celebrate the most accomplished musicians.

Hip hop was definitely out in full force, with Toya Delazy and Reason opening the show in a spectacular collaboration – a theme of the night. Khuli Chana took a remarkable THREE awards on the night #CHANAPOWER. Much respect to DreamTeam and the rest of the Chana team! And big ups to all the other hip hop nominees Proverb, Reason, PRO and Last Days Fam.

Take a look at the full list of winners.

• MTN Record of the Year: Sfiso Ncwane ‘Kulungile Baba’

• Album of the Year: Khuli Chana Lost in Time

• Duo or Group of the Year: Freshlyground

• Female Artist of the Year – Kelly Khumalo

• Male Artist of the Year – Khuli Chana

• Newcomer of the Year – Toya Delazy

• Best Rock Album – Zebra & Giraffe

• Best Pop Album – Toya Delazy Due Drop

• Beste Kontemporêre Musiek Album – Theuns Jordaan  Roeper

• Best Adult Contemporary Album – Elvis Blue Journey

• Best Rap Album – Khuli Chana

• Best Kwaito Album –  Professor The Orientation

• Best Dance Album – Black Coffee Africa Rising

• Best Traditional Faith Music Album – Various Spirit of Praise Vol.4

• Best Traditional Album – Soul Brothers Isiphithiphithi

• Best Maskandi Album – Ichwane Lebhaca Inkunzi Yomthakathi

• Best Jazz Album – Herbie Tsoaeli African Time

• Best African Adult Album – Maleh Step Child

• Best Collaboration – Riot Feat. Zahara ‘Thetha Nami’

• MTN Best Selling Mobile Music Download – ‘Loliwe’ Zahara

Scroll to Top

Join the Hype fam and sign-up today

Newsletters • competitions • events