‘Spoek Mathambo: Future Sound of Mzansi’ Releases Through Sony Music Africa on Nov 26, 2012

Spoek Mathambo will be releasing his first compilation “Spoek Mathambo: Future Sound of Mzansi” through Sony Music Africa on November 26, 2012.

Spoek Mathambo – the stage name of South African musician Singer-Rapper-Producer-DJ Nthato Mokgata – is at the vanguard of a new wave of African artists with a fresh take on Afro-futurism. His unique vision of electronic music is showcased on Future Sound of Mzansi , a collection defined by an ‘urban’ mixture of international sounds – Hip Hop, Electro, Dubstep – with home grown South African house music influences.

He has enjoyed much international acclaim for this exciting fusion and this compilation includes the best of recent new recordings, unreleased remixes & hard-to-find collaborations in a 15 track album.

Spoek Mathambo: Future Sound of Mzansi

1          Spoek Mathambo ft Chi Chi ‘Ice Cream’       

2          Spoek Mathambo & Cerebral Vortex ‘Drunk Like That’ (Douster Remix)  

3          Douster ft Spoek Mathambo ‘Punani’

4          Robyn ‘Dancehall Queen’ (Diplo & Stenchman Remix Feat. Spoek Mathambo) 

5          Spoek Mathambo ft Sibot ‘Round The World’

6          Spoek Mathambo ft Sibot ‘Under My Arm’

7          Spoek Mathambo ft Cerebral Vortex & Fanny Sosa ‘Friday Night’

8          Blah Blah Blah ft Spoek Mathambo & Riky Rick ‘Drive Me Home’

9          Spoek Mathambo ft Okmalumkoolkat ‘Skorokoro’

10        Spoek Mathambo & Cerebral Vortex ‘Drunk Like That’      

11        Spoek Mathambo & Nombolo One ‘Weekend Special’

12        Sauti Sol ft Spoek Mathambo & Dela ‘Slow’

13        Tim Turbo ft Spoek Mathambo & Gnucci ‘Linyora’

14        Spoek Mathambo ‘Control’

15        Spoek Mathambo ‘Mshini Wam’ (Canblaster Remix)

Spoek’s international profile increased significantly with the release of his reworking of the Joy Division classic ‘She’s Lost Control’, with the Pieter Hugo and Michael Cleary directed video for ‘Control’ (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d1CfJIySqEE) winning the prestigious “Young Director Award” at Cannes Lions Festival in 2011. This eye for conceptual detail has resulted in collaborative offers from many local and major artists as acclaimed as Massive Attack and Damon Albarn.

Spoek was again nominated for a MOBO (Music of Black Origin) award in the best African Artists Category – alongside music industry heavyweights DBanj, Beyonce, Jay Z, Kanye West and Rihanna. Spoek also recently returned from a production collaboration with Damon Albarn (Blur, Gorillaz) and UK tour with Albarn’s Africa Express (www.africaexpress.co.uk/ ), which also featured artists Amadou & Mariam, Fatoumata Diawara, Baaba Maal, Bombay Bicycle Club and Nick Zinner from the Yeah Yeah Yeahs amongst others. Spoek’s previous solo album Father Creeper, was released in March 2012 through Sup Pop Records.

‘Spoek Mathambo: Future Sound of Mzanzi’ will be available on CD & Download from November 26, 2012.

Scroll to Top

Join the Hype fam and sign-up today

Newsletters • competitions • events