Drizzy and Jigga lead “BET Award” nominations list

beyonce-jay-zThis year’s BET award nominations have just been released, with Jay-Z, Beyonce and Drake leading with 5 nominations each. Hot on their heels is Pharrell Williams with 4 nominations, while our very own Mafikizolo has scooped up a nominee for Best International African Act, rounding off what’s been a stellar award season for the duo, who recently won 8 SAMAs. 

The awards take place on Sunday 29 June in Los Angeles and will be broadcast on BET International in Africa on 1 July at 9pm CAT.

“I watch the BET Awards every year. It’s one of my favourite award shows combining people from movies, sports, TV and music,” said this year’s host Chris Rock. “Where else can you get Rick Ross and Michelle Obama in the same room?! The BET Awards is like a party where nothing is off limit.  My peers have done the show; now it’s my turn.”   

 The complete list of nominees for the BET Awards 2014 are:  

Best International Act: Africa

Davido (Nigeria)

Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)

Mafikizolo (South Africa)

Sarkodie (Ghana)

Tiwa Savage (Nigeria)

Toofan (Togo)  


Best International Act: UK

Dizzee Rascal


Krept & Konan

Laura Mvula

Rita Ora

Tinie Tempah  


Best Female R&B/Pop Artist


Janelle Monáe

Jhené Aiko

K. Michelle


Tamar Braxton 


Best Male R&B/Pop Artist

August Alsina

Chris Brown

John Legend  

Justin Timberlake

Pharrell Williams 


Best Group

A$AP Mob

Daft Punk

Macklemore & Ryan Lewis


Young Money 


Best Collaboration

August Alsina f/ Trinidad Jame$ – I Luv This

Beyoncé f/ JAY Z – Drunk In Love

Drake f/ Majid Jordan – Hold On (We’re Going Home)

JAY Z f/ Justin Timberlake – Holy Grail

Robin Thicke f/ T.I. & Pharrell Williams – Blurred Lines

YG f/ Jeezy & Rich Homie Quan – My Hitta 


Best Male Hip Hop Artist



J. Cole


Kendrick Lamar 


Best Female Hip Hop Artist

Angel Haze

Charli Baltimore


Iggy Azalea

Nicki Minaj 


Video of the Year

Beyoncé – Partition 

Beyoncé f/ JAY Z – Drunk In Love

Chris Brown – Fine China

Drake – Worst Behavior

Pharrell Williams – Happy 


Video Director of the Year

Benny Boom

Chris Brown

Colin Tilley

Director X

Hype Williams 


Best New Artist

Ariana Grande

August Alsina

Mack Wilds

Rich Homie Quan

ScHoolboy Q 


Best Gospel Artist

Donnie McClurkin

Erica Campbell

Hezekiah Walker

Tamela Mann

Tye Tribbett 


Best Actress

Angela Bassett

Gabrielle Union

Kerry Washington

Lupita Nyong’o

Oprah Winfrey 


Best Actor

Chiwetel Ejiofor

Forest Whitaker

Idris Elba

Kevin Hart

Michael B. Jordan 


YoungStars Award

Gabrielle Douglas

Jacob Latimore

Jaden Smith

KeKe Palmer



Best Movie

12 Years a Slave

The Best Man Holiday

Fruitvale Station

Kevin Hart: Let Me Explain

Lee Daniels’ The Butler 


Subway Sportswoman of the Year

Brittney Griner

Lolo Jones

Serena Williams

Skylar Diggins

Venus Williams


Subway Sportsman of the Year

Blake Griffin

Carmelo Anthony

Floyd Mayweather Jr.

Kevin Durant

LeBron James 


Centric Award

Aloe Blacc – The Man

Jennifer Hudson f/ T.I. – I Can’t Describe (The Way I Feel)

Jhené Aiko – The Worst

LiV Warfield – Why Do You Lie?

Wale f/ Sam Dew – LoveHate Thing 


Join the Hype fam and sign-up today

Newsletters • competitions • events