Channel O VMA nominees: hip hop in full force

Going down on 30 November at Walter Sisulu Square in Kliptown Soweto, the Annual Channel O Africa Music Video Awards are celebrating a decade in the game and promise to give fans a thrilling affair at the live award show. Fans will be able to vote for their favourite artists in the various 14 categories. Check out some of the categories and respective nominees that include your favourite rap artists:

Most gifted video of the year

Xtatic, AKA & Priddy Ugly – Hit Em Up
Zeus FT AKA & Tumi – #DatsWasup
Wizkid – Azonto
STL – Stella Stella Stella
AKA – Jealousy
Reason – Do It Like I Can
Mafikizolo – Khona
Fuse ODG FT Wyclef Jean – Antenna
Ice Prince – Aboki
R2BEES – Life (Walaahi)
P-Square – Alingo
Paul G FT Fabulous – Get Control

Most gifted duo/ featuring video

Teargas – Wake Up
Xtatic feat AKA & Priddy Ugly-  Hit em up
Micasa – Can’t get enough
EME – Baddest boy
Naeto C feat Dbanj – Tony Montana (Bad Pass) Remix
Zonefam – Contolola

Most gifted newcomer

Moneo – Is’bhanxa
Lola Rae – Watch My Ting Go
Khaya Mthethwa – Move
Victoria Kimani – Mtoto
Burna Boy – Tonight

Most gifted female video

Zonke – Feelings
Lizha James feat. Anselmo Ralph – Vais Rochar
STL – Stella Stella Stell
Tiwa Savage feat. Don Jazzy – Without my heart
Toya Delazy – Heart

Most gifted male video

Donald – Over the moon
Zeus feat AKA and Tumi – #Datswasup
Wizkid – Azonto
Ay/Marco Chali – Party Zone
Iyanya – Flavour

Most gifted hip hop video

AKA – Jealousy
Jayso & Sarkodie – Pizza and Burger
Reason – Do it like I can
iFani feat. Blaksuga – Chocolate Vanilla
EL/M.anifest – Hallelula

Most gifted African (West) video

D’Prince – Goody Bag
Ice Prince – Aboki
R2Bees – Life (Walaahi)
Dblack feat. Joey B – Vera
Chidinma feat. Illbliss & Suspect – Emi Ni Ballar
P-Square – Alingo

Most gifted African (South) video

Dama Do Bling – My Eish
Oskido – Tsa Mandebele
Black Coffee feat Zakes – Take it all off
Paul G feat. Fabulous – Get Control
DJ Dimplez feat L-Tido & Anatii – We ain’t leavingKhuli Chana – Hazzadazmove

For the full list of nominees go to

Voting is already open and closes on Thursday, 21 November at midnight. To vote you can SMS artists’ voting code to the number +2783142100415. Standard SMS rates apply. You can also vote on the web and WAP:




Join the Hype fam and sign-up today

Newsletters • competitions • events